The Tallahassee Barristers Association, under the leadership of their President G.C. Murray, Jr. (current TBA Board member), was announced as the Virgil Hawkins’s Chapter of the Year. During his administration, the Barristers have grown their membership to the highest numbers in its 40 year history, created the Young Lawyers’ Division which has been recognized by the Florida Bar Young Lawyer’s Division, adopted impoverished communities, held Know Your Rights seminars, and worked with nonprofits like the ICE Foundation to promote community service and unity. “This award is proof positive of what a group can achieve when it’s willing to revisit what it does and why it exists. I challenged the Barristers’ status quo  and they challenged my ability to lead and this award is testament to that unique work product. I’m thankful for every single member and this award is well deserved by them.” said Murray while accepting the award at the Henry T. Latimer Diversity Reception at the 2016 Florida Bar Convention.

TFB_Annual_Meeting_Award1 TFB_Annual_Meeting_Award2