The Richard W. Ervin Equal Justice Award Posted April 15, 2016 by Tallahassee Bar Association


The Richard W. Ervin Equal Justice Award

Deadline for submission:  Monday, April 18, 2016.

The Capital City Bar President’s Council established the Richard W. Ervin Equal Justice Award in 2002 as a means to recognize an individual who, through a career, event or court case, has made significant contributions to the legal justice system in Florida.  Past recipients include: Attorney General Bob Butterworth in 2002, Public Defender Nancy Daniels in 2003, Legal Services of North Florida Senior Attorney Mark Taps in 2004, Justice Peggy Quince in 2005, Catherine Lannon in 2006, Tom Powell in 2007, June McKinney in 2008, Chief Judge Charles Francis in 2009, Thomas M. Ervin in 2010, Robert M. Ervin in 2011, Talbot “Sandy” D’Alemberte in 2012, Kristine Knab in 2013, Twyla Sketchley in 2014 and The Honorable Nikki Ann Clark in 2015.  (Former American Bar Association President Martha Barnett received the first Law Day award in 2001, at which time it was not yet titled the Richard W. Ervin Equal Justice Award.)  The criteria for the award are listed as follows:

The nominee must:

  • Be an attorney who has served or is serving in the 2nd Judicial Circuit
  • Has promoted the cause of justice and the rule of law in issues of significance
  • Have been an active member of the state and/or a local bar association or legal organization
  • Served as a role model or mentor
  • Promoted the cause of diversity in the legal community
  • Promoted the cause of equal access to the courts
  • Demonstrated professionalism
  • Contributed to serving their community

Nomination Form for 2016 ->> EqualJusticeNomination

In addition to the nomination form, you may attach three letters of support from individuals or organizations and two news or magazine articles written by or about the nominee. 
Deadline for submission:  Monday, April 18, 2016.