Tallahassee Bar Association Annual Awards Posted October 5, 2016 by Tallahassee Bar Association


Recipients Must Be Tallahassee Bar Association Members

Thomas M. Ervin Jr. Distinguished Young Lawyer

Presented to a young lawyer who exemplifies the contributions that Tom Ervin made to the legal profession, The Florida Bar and the Tallahassee Bar Association. The recipient must be a TBA member who has demonstrated exceptional service to TBA, TBA’s Young Lawyer Section and the Legal Aid Foundation; who exhibits high standards of professionalism; and has participated in activities that promote interaction and collegiality among TBA members.

Previous recipients include Melissa VanSickle (2011), Ben Bush (2012), Greg Noonan (2013), Andrew Manko (2014), Will Hall (2015) and Darby Kerrigan Scott (2016).

Lifetime Professionalism

(Nominations are due by Friday, Nov. 4, 2016, for the 2016 award). Given to a lawyer, judge or law professor who for a period of at least 25 years has demonstrated professionalism and dedication to the legal profession and legal community through civil, community or legal service.

Second Judicial Circuit Judge Charles A. Francis was the inaugural award recipient in 2015.

Martha Barnett Women Lawyers of Achievement

Recognizes and celebrates the accomplishments of women lawyers from Florida’s Second Judicial Circuit by honoring an outstanding lawyer who has achieved professional excellence and who has been an advocate or mentor for the advancement of other women lawyers.

Leon County Judge Nina Ashenafi Richardson received the first Martha Barnett award in 2015.

Champion for Diversity in the Legal Profession

Honors lawyers, law firms, judges, employers or in-house corporate counsel attorneys who have made measurable progress in the recruitment, hiring, retention, and advancement to leadership positions of lawyers who are racially, ethnically and culturally diverse; women; members of the LGBT community or persons with disabilities. Presented to one individual or entity who has demonstrated the above actions as an advocate for diversity and inclusion and who has served as a role model by influencing and inspiring others in the legal profession to understand challenges and barriers that some lawyers experience in the practice of law.

This award will be presented annually at the Tallahassee Bar Association Table for 8 event each fall.